UN-STUFFED CABBAGE ROLL CASSEROLE

Un-Stuffed Cabbage Roll Casserole

Un-Stuffed Cabbage Roll Casserole

2 lbs Bluewater Beef lean ground beef (or 1 lb ground beef and 1 lb ground beef sausage) 1 large onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 small cabbage, chopped ( or ½ large cabbage)
1 can (796 ml) diced tomatoes (or fresh tomatoes, chopped plus about ½c water)
1 can (630 ml) pasta sauce 1/2 cup water
1/2 cup long grain brown rice (or use cooked rice and leave out the ½ water)
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp salt

Photo Oct 21, 5 19 16 PM

In a large skillet, brown the beef and onion and cook, stirring, until ground beef is no longer pink and onion is tender. Add garlic and cook 1 min longer. I used 1lb ground beef and 1lb of our ground sausage for a different flavour and it was excellent!Photo Oct 21, 5 28 27 PM

Stir in cabbage, tomatoes, tomato sauce, rice, water, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes, or until rice is done and cabbage is tender. (I also added about 1 tsp of cayenne pepper).

When I made this earlier in the week, I didn’t exactly account for my time properly and it was still cooking when I had to leave to drop a kids off. The kid at home who tried it right after it was done, said the rice was a little crunchy “but I like it that way” so he was happy. You may need to monitor the rice when cooking. When I warmed it up on the stove the next night, I brought it to a boil and let it simmer for another 10 min or so, and the rice was perfect.
Yield: Serves 6 to 8

Leave a comment